The Inheritance Games Paperback – 3 September 2020 by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Author)

(13 customer reviews)

270.00

20 sold in last 6 hours
Hurry! Over 11 people have this in their carts

Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations › View or edit your browsing history After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.

+
  • The Inheritance Games Paperback – 3 September 2020 by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Author)

    270.00

    Request a Call Back

    •  Ask a Question

      The Inheritance Games Paperback – 3 September 2020 by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Author)

      270.00

      Ask a Question

        Estimated Delivery: Apr 27 – May 01
        ... people are viewing this right now

        Share
      Guaranteed Safe CheckoutTrust

      Product description

      Review

      Barnes is a master of puzzles and plot twists. — E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars

      Impossible to put down ― Buzzfeed

      A fantastic rollercoaster of a book! We Were Liars meets The Da Vinci Code.

      — Kat Ellis, author of Harrow Lake

      A thrilling blend of family secrets, illicit romance and a high-stakes treasure hunt . . . The nonstop twists kept me guessing until the very last page! — Katharine McGee, author of American Royals

      A thrilling blend of family secrets, illicit romance and a high-stakes treasure hunt . . . The nonstop twists kept me guessing until the very last page! — Katharine McGee, NYT bestselling author of American Royals

      A fantastic rollercoaster of a book! We Were Liars meets The Da Vinci Code. I loved it! — Kat Ellis, author of Harrow Lake

      One of YA’s more reliably twisty and brilliant thriller authors is back with a brand new series that’s every bit as impossible to put down as her others ― Buzzfeed

      About the Author

      Jennifer Lynn Barnes has written more than a dozen acclaimed young adult novels. Jen is also a Fulbright Scholar with advanced degrees in psychology, psychiatry, and cognitive science. She received her Ph.D. from Yale University in 2012 and is currently a professor of psychology and professional writing at the University of Oklahoma. You can find her online at www.jenniferlynnbarnes.com or follow her on Twitter @jenlynnbarnes.

      From the Publisher

      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction
      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction

      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction

      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction

      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction

      Unlock the secrets…

      Welcome to The Inheritance Games. An addictive and twisty thriller, full of dark family secrets and deadly stakes. Meet Avery, a young girl who inherits a huge windfall – and must solve a series of deadly clues and puzzles to earn it.

      From an expert storyteller…

      Jennifer Lynn Barnes has written more than a dozen acclaimed young adult novels. She is currently a professor of psychology and professional writing at the University of Oklahoma.

      Perfect for fans of…

      The Inheritance Games is a page-turning novel with twists at each turn, ideal for fans of One Of Us Is Lying, A Good Girls’ Guide To Murder, Riverdale and Gossip Girl. You won’t be able to put it down!

      Dimensions 12.9 × 1.11 cm
      Publisher ‏

      ‎ Penguin (Puffin) (3 September 2020); Penguin Random House

      Language ‏

      ‎ English

      Paperback ‏

      ‎ 384 pages

      ISBN-10 ‏

      ‎ 0241476178

      ISBN-13 ‏

      ‎ 978-0241476178

      Reading age ‏

      ‎ Customer suggested age

      Item Weight ‏

      ‎ 130 g

      Dimensions ‏

      ‎ 19.7 x 12.9 x 1.11 cm

      Country of Origin ‏

      ‎ India

      Importer ‏

      ‎ Penguin Random House

      Packer ‏

      ‎ Penguin Random House

      Generic Name ‏

      ‎ Books

      UNSPSC-Code

      55101500 (Printed publications) Report an incorrect code

      Based on 13 reviews

      4.50 Overall
      58.33%
      33.33%
      8.33%
      0%
      0%
      Add a review

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

      Write a review

      13 reviews for The Inheritance Games Paperback – 3 September 2020 by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Author)

      1. Venisha

        The book is very well writtenThe main character, Avery has a complex backstoryKeeps you hooked👌Thank you Jennifer for this masterpiece of a book

      2. Tanu

        I have just completed it and it is so good

      3. Samarpita Behera

        I had been wanting to read this for awhile because of it’s plot and a few quotes I read from here. I must say I have high hopes for this book! Also ny package arrived earlier than i expected so I’m happy! Go for it.

      4. Rohit Khemani

        Came in perfect condition.

      5. Jaya

        It is impossible to put down a great readfinished in one sitting. Glad I found it.

      6. ansh

        Purchased from: cocobluHardcoverCondition: 98% acceptableDestination: delhiNow coming to the book. 20/10 storytelling.. u cannot stop readingWont say much. Just go for it ✌🏼

      7. Nalini rao

        Engaging but as the story goes on you can guess some of the twists. But overall the book is engaging.

      8. Anu Reji

        Book lover?! Then definitely read it.Mystery book. Can’t wait to read the next book.

      9. S Payne

        A good, quick holiday readThis book seems to be everywhere at the moment, I don’t have TikTok and even I knew about it. I approached this book with some trepidation as I’m not sure how highly I rate the general “TikTok made me buy it” quotes but it was 99p so I purchased it with an open mind.The Inheritance Games is the first book in a trilogy following Avery Grambs who has inherited a billion dollar fortune from a man she has never met before. After her mother’s death, Avery had been living in her car and sometimes with her sister Libby and we meet her as she is approached by strangers and told she’s needed to attend the reading of the will of Tobias Hawthorne. At the reading, it is revealed she’s now the heiress of a multi billion dollar inheritance with the catch being that she needs to live in a mansion for 12 months and must allow the family of the late Tobias to reside there too, including his four grandsons. The house itself is huge with secret passageways, different wings, a bowling alley, theatre, library’s etc and Avery can’t believe it’s all been left to her by someone she’s never met. Avery and the grandsons of Tobias are all left with a letter from Tobias with a cryptic message that they must all decipher.As I said, I had low expectations for this book which is why I enjoyed it so much I think. It wasn’t an amazing read but I was on holiday when I read it and it was a perfect quick read for that (I read it in a few hours). Avery as a character was fine, I think she probably needed a bit more fleshing out, we are made to believe that she is genius level but we never really get that I think. The love triangle storyline was not great to be honest. Avery barely spent any time with the boys but is in love with them anyway, it was also very predictable. The boys themselves were fine but also nothing new really. I was intrigued by Nash and I expect we will find out more about him as the series progresses. I enjoyed the puzzles and the twists, these were very clever.Overall, a good holiday read but nothing groundbreaking. I’ll probably pick up the rest of the series at some point.

      10. OneYoungGoat

        Enjoyed, but…Thoroughly enjoyed the journey. Writing was solid. Characters were interesting and I never had trouble telling the boys apart.I can’t give it five stars though because the center of this book is the puzzles themselves and the puzzles were blah. Quite a few of them I understood before Avery did. Worst though was the giant ending twist. Because I saw that coming from like page 1. Takes the fun out of it.But also, all along the way there were people who had answers to many of the story quesitons. Rather than tell Avery they just strung things along, the author often cutting of a scene right at the big moment so that Avery and the reader got a taste of an answer but not the real answer. As a form of story tension, I find this annoying and manipulative, not engaging.Still, I’m going to get the second book.

      11. Paola Mar

        EntretenidoLo leí hace casi un año, lo disfruté mucho y fue muy fácil de leer. No he podido leer los demás de la trilogía pero he visto buenas reseñas.Yo lo leí en inglés e incluso el lenguaje es muy fácil de entender, lo recomiendo.

      12. J. Weekes

        Fast-Paced MysteryI did really like this book….but in a round about way.It’s sort of a “Knives Out” story for YA.The chapters were very choppy which is good because it makes it fast paced, but it also leaves you hanging so many times that by the end of the book you feel battered and bruised. The author always ends the chapters with these explosive truth bombs, and then at the start of the next chapter Avery is somewhere completely different, doing something else and acting like it didn’t happen.I liked Avery at the beginning of the book. She seemed strong willed, humble, and clever. She was supposed to be the smartest in her grade in her normal school, getting a perfect score on an impassable test. I kept hoping she really was smarter than the author was showing the reader, and there would be a grand reveal at the end. But throughout the book she really is no stronger than Libby, following the Hawthorns around like a lost puppy. The romance was lackluster because she was so involved with both of them. I’m all for a good love triangle but in every scene she’s insta-love with whichever boy she is with. And she really doesn’t spend enough time with Grayson to develop feelings that strong.For thinking so bad of Libby not having a strong enough will to stand up to Drake, Avery sure takes a lot of crap from both Grayson and Jameson. I laughed out loud at the line “Poor Jameson. He’d gone to all that effort to keep me close, then ditched me before I could play my part.” In the end I didn’t think Avery should be with either of them, but the mystery kept me guessing, twisting, and turning all the way through. I couldn’t put it down. I will definitely be reading the next book and would recommend it to friends.

      13. heather

        fabEasy to read, twists and turns at every corner. Chapters were nice and short. The whole story was just intriguing, dramatic and fun. Immediately buying the rest of the books. I must know how this ends.

      SKU: 0241476178 Categories: , Tag:
      Close My Cart
      Close Wishlist
      Close Recently Viewed
      Close
      Close
      Categories