The Hawthorne Legacy Paperback – 9 September 2021 by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Author)

(13 customer reviews)

300.00

15 sold in last 15 hours
Hurry! Over 3 people have this in their carts

Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations › View or edit your browsing history After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.

+
  • The Hawthorne Legacy Paperback – 9 September 2021 by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Author)

    300.00

    Request a Call Back

    •  Ask a Question

      The Hawthorne Legacy Paperback – 9 September 2021 by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Author)

      300.00

      Ask a Question

        Estimated Delivery: Apr 27 – May 01
        ... people are viewing this right now

        Share
      Guaranteed Safe CheckoutTrust

      Product description

      Review

      Barnes is a master of puzzles and plot twists. — E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars

      Impossible to put down ― Buzzfeed

      A fantastic rollercoaster of a book! We Were Liars meets The Da Vinci Code.

      — Kat Ellis, author of Harrow Lake

      A thrilling blend of family secrets, illicit romance and a high-stakes treasure hunt . . . The nonstop twists kept me guessing until the very last page! — Katharine McGee, author of American Royals

      About the Author

      Jennifer Lynn Barnes has written more than a dozen acclaimed young adult novels. Jen is also a Fulbright Scholar with advanced degrees in psychology, psychiatry, and cognitive science. She received her Ph.D. from Yale University in 2012 and is currently a professor of psychology and professional writing at the University of Oklahoma. You can find her online at www.jenniferlynnbarnes.com or follow her on Twitter @jenlynnbarnes.

      From the Publisher

      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction
      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction

      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction

      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction

      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction

      The sequel to the Tiktok sensation

      Picking up right where The Inheritance Games left off, the page-turning mystery that has Tiktok captivated returns, along with its heroine. With billions of dollars hanging in the balance, will Avery Grambs get the answers she needs?

      From an expert storyteller

      Jennifer Lynn Barnes has written more than a dozen acclaimed young adult novels, including the global bestseller The Inheritance Games. She is currently a professor of psychology and professional writing at the University of Oklahoma.

      Perfect for fans of…

      The Hawthorne Legacy is a must-read for fans of We Were Liars, One Of Us Is Lying and The Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. If you like non-stop action, swoon-worthy romance and mystery on every page, this is the one for you!

      Thriller; Jennifer Lynn Barnes; Inheritance Games; Karen McManus; Holly Jackson; YA; YA Fiction
      Dimensions 12.9 × 1.11 cm
      Publisher ‏

      ‎ Penguin (9 September 2021)

      Language ‏

      ‎ English

      Paperback ‏

      ‎ 368 pages

      ISBN-10 ‏

      ‎ 0241480728

      ISBN-13 ‏

      ‎ 978-0241480724

      Reading age ‏

      ‎ 12 – 17 years

      Item Weight ‏

      ‎ 130 g

      Dimensions ‏

      ‎ 19.7 x 12.9 x 1.11 cm

      Country of Origin ‏

      ‎ United Kingdom

      UNSPSC-Code

      55101500 (Printed publications) Report an incorrect code

      Based on 13 reviews

      4.50 Overall
      66.67%
      16.67%
      16.67%
      0%
      0%
      Add a review

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

      Write a review

      13 reviews for The Hawthorne Legacy Paperback – 9 September 2021 by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (Author)

      1. Venisha

        This is really goodI especially enjoyed chapter 17 and 18Thank you Jennifer

      2. SATHYA DGS

        One day delivery. Happy I got this cover edition not that chessboard cover edition. Packaging need a improvement.

      3. It was perfect the quality is so good if you’re buying don’t think much just goo for it loved it

      4. Kb

        I love the book cover, it’s magical 😍.

      5. sahasra reddy

        ive not read this book yet but its in excellent condition, very satisfied ‼️

      6. 10/11

        This books picks up from the end of its prequel and the story and subplots revolve around one main question: Who exactly is Tobias Hawthorne II and where is he now?Coming to the story, it was fast-paced than before book which I liked. Decisions are made quickly and put into action. The love triangle goes on and so does the romance between Avery and Jameson. Complex relations cover most of the book so I suggest you better go slow while reading to understand properly, there were shocking revelations, few threats and therefore little action. Adding Max for few chapters was a good add on, Xander is given more importance in this book and the puzzles were also good.Overall, all loose ends are tied up. Let’s see what the next and final book of this series will offer us….

      7. Baviyasreenevasan

        The book itself is an example for perfection. This book arrived in it’s best condition and is really great. Highly recommended!

      8. Krina || amazeofwords

        I read this again in less than 24 hours. It’s intriguing yet something is making me not like this …Some predictable twists and some unexpected.Detailed review on 3rd book.

      9. OneYoungGoat

        Just Meh for meI mean, I read the entire book. And I didn’t hate it.But it took all the aspects of the first book that weren’t so great and made them worse. It also felt very much like a repeat of the first book in some aspects. I kept a mental checklist: here’s where Avery kisses _______, now here’s where Avery kisses ________, here’s where someone tries to kill her and fails, here’s the kindness moment from Mrs. Laughlin. (I could go on and on.) Maybe it was my imagination, but these all seemed to happen in the same story moments (25%, 62%, etc.) of the story.The puzzles were even less puzzling than the first book. I figured most of them out way before Avery and the Hawthorne’s and many were so dead obvious that Avery and the Hawthorne’s started to feel a bit dense. I figured out the family dynamics/connections hundred of pages before they were revealed. And there were a number of dead-obvious clues that no one else noticed. I kept wondering when someone was going to follow up on ____________________, but then they never did.The theme of ‘I can’t because I feel too guilty’ felt tired in this book. Too much of a repeat of the previous book. Made the conclusion unsatisfying.I also found several aspects of the plot unbelievably cruel. The first was Avery’s Mom endlessly telling her ‘I’ve got a secret about the day of your birth.’ It’s hard to discuss this without giving away spoilers, so I’ll make my own metaphor as an example of what happened (this is not what happened). Let’s say A Person grows up poor with a Family Member saying that one day the person would inherit a billion dollars. Over and over again the Family Member says this. But then when the inheritance comes in, it isn’t The Person who inherits, it’s the Family Member. The Person gets zero because they have zero connection to the money, only the Family Member does. Even worse, The Person is expected to be just as happy about the Family Member having their dreams come true as if it actually had been The Person themselves. (I hope that makes sense.) In this situation, it was CRUEL of the Family Member to endlessly tell The Person that they would inherit billions because it had nothing to do with The Person. This is pretty much what Avery’s mother does to Avery. And of course Avery is thrilled with getting nothing and her mother’s cruelty. That her mother did a hugely unkind thing isn’t even mentioned. (Truth, it occurs to me as I write this that Avery is becoming a Mary Sue.)And then in the same vein, Avery spends the book continuing to develop romantic relationships with both Jameson and Grayson. Not once does she pause to consider that’s she creating a repeat of the Emily fiasco, which nearly destroyed both boys. Avery just switches back and forth between them, without even considering whether this is a good idea or not. She is supposed to be so brilliant, such a good reader of people, and yet in this aspect she also came off as cruel. The only person who showed any common sense in this three-some was Grayson.The thing is, I have a feeling all of this is unintentional on the author’s part. One of those situations where the author just didn’t think things thru well enough.I’ll probably read the third book. I’m curious how the author redeems Avery’s situation. My guess is that Avery is going to become even more of a Mary Sue. But we’ll see.

      10. Mary-Jane

        ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️This book was amazing!! It was just as good as the first book and had so many twist and turns. I was constantly on the edge of my seat and could never put this book down. It made me laugh and cry and for that it deserves 5 stars. 😙🙃

      11. J2theN

        A Thrilling Sequel That Raises the StakesIf you enjoyed The Inheritance Games, The Hawthorne Legacy is a must-read. It continues to explore themes of family, wealth, power, and trust, while maintaining the same wit and charm that made the first book so engaging. Prepare for sleepless nights as you unravel the mysteries of the Hawthorne legacy.

      12. Amazon Customer

        1st book is very good (so I have been told)My 12 year old niece loved the 1st book, so I got her the 2nd one. She was very excited and said she can wait to read it.

      13. Ozarks1

        Great book exceptGreat book. Could’ve done without the lesbian couple being thrown in. Why do so many modern authors feel the need to throw a bone to minorities in their writing?

      SKU: 0241480728 Category: Tag:
      Close My Cart
      Close Wishlist
      Close Recently Viewed
      Close
      Close
      Categories